Friday, April 1, 2022

Literaturhaus Wien Zieglergasse 26a, 1070 Wien

3:00 pm

Teresa Präauer in discussion with Max Czollek

Focus on Poetry

Max Czollek, Foto © Konstantin Börner

Resistance draws sustenance from diversity


Author, publisher, and advocate for a radically pluralist society, the festival appointed
Max Czollek to curate a poetry section featuring diverse lyrical positions.
The author Teresa Präauer—who coined the motto for this year’s festival—speaks with him about literary politics and political poetry, as well as about overcoming the present and the changes that must be made.

Readings:
Ricardo Domeneck (Brazil), Barbara Juch (Austria), Adi Keissar (Israel),  Ronya Othmann (Germany)

Readings in the original language with German supertitles


Max Czollek, b. 1987 in Berlin, Germany, where he is completing his doctorate at the Center for Research on Antisemitism at the TU Berlin. His manifestos for radical diversity, Desintegriert euch! (Hanser, 2018, Disintegrate Yourselves, forthcoming in English with Restless Books) and Gegenwartsbewältigung (Hanser, 2020, Overcoming the Present), both sparked heated debates. He has published three books of poetry with Verlagshaus Berlin, most recently Grenzwerte (2019), is a member of the poetry collective G13, and co-editor of the journal Jalta – Positionen zur jüdischen Gegenwart (Yalta – Positions on the Jewish present). Alongside teaching and working for the theater, in 2022 he also curated an exhibition at the Jewish Museum Frankfurt on revenge in Jewish cultural history. He recently edited the journal Akzente 1/22 (forthcoming in April), which explores the relevance of the art song for contemporary poetry, songs, and music.

Ricardo Domeneck, b. 1977 in Bebedouro, São Paulo, Brazil, lives and works in Berlin as a writer, translator, and literary curator. He has published nine poetry and two prose books in Berlin and is editor of various journals, currently the literary journal Peixe-boi, which showcases prose and poetry by Brazilian authors. Reading and performance are important elements of his work, which he has presented at readings and festivals worldwide, as well as publishing in journals and anthologies in Germany, the USA, Spain, and Argentina. Domeneck often works in interdisciplinary projects and with different types of artists. A bilingual edition of selected poems, Körper. Ein Handbuch. (Bodies. A Manual.), was published by Verlagshaus Berlin in 2013.

Barbara Juch, b. 1988 in Klagenfurt, Austria, spent her childhood in Ferlach/Borovlje and today lives in Vienna. She studied American literature at the University of Vienna, was a Fulbright scholar at the State University of New York and completed her Master’s in Critical Studies at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna. Barbara Juch writes poetry, essays, and plays, sings in the queer feminist concept choir Mala Sirena and rides with the racing cyclists Skinny Devils. Her collaborations include work with the film collective Hekate, the Studio HDS59, and Waltzwerk theater in Klagenfurt. She recently worked with director Claudia Bossard on a stage adaptation for the Schauspielhaus Graz, Making a Great Gatsby. Her debut volume of poetry, BARBARA, was published with Verlagshaus Berlin in 2020.
barbjuch.com

Adi Keissar, b. 1980 in Jerusalem, Israel, is a poet, editor, and journalist of Yemenite heritage who today lives in Tel Aviv. She founded the well-known poetry project Ars Poetica, which combines Mizrahi culture with poetry and spoken word to form a lyrical explosion. Her first book, Black on Black (2014), was awarded many prizes. Her second poetry collection, Loud Music, was brought out in 2016, her most recent book, Chronicles, appeared in 2018. Since 2017, her poetry has been included in the Israeli Ministry of Education’s standard curriculum. Her texts have been translated into ten languages and have been included in anthologies and journals around the world. The daily newspaper Haaretz has named her Israel’s most influential contemporary poet.

Ronya Othmann, b. 1993 in Munich, Germany, lives and writes in Leipzig, where she studied at the University of Leipzig’s Institute of German Literature. One branch of her family comes from Syria and has a Kurdish/Yazidi background. Ronya Othmann often expresses her engagement with political issues in her literary and journalistic texts. Until around 2020, she wrote the column Orient Express for the German daily newspaper the taz, and since 2021 writes the Import Export column in another daily, the FAZ. Her debut novel, Die Sommer (The Summer, 2020) and her book of poetry die verbrechen (the crimes, 2021) were both published with Hanser and deal with life “between all cultures and conventions.” Her awards include the MDR Literature Prize, the Caroline Schlegel Prize for essays, the Open Mike poetry prize, and the Audience Award of the Ingeborg Bachmann Prize competition.
ronyaothmann.com

5:00 pm

Teresa Präauer in discussion with Ricardo Domeneck and Ronya Othmann

Teresa Präauer, Foto © Thomas Langdon

Both Ricardo Domeneck and Ronya Othmann mangage to engage their audiences in social debates with different literary means. Ronya Othman e. g. has her own newspaper column (FAS) while Ricardo Domeneck openly criticises the politics of Barzils president Jair Bolsonaro. Teresa Präauer speaks with both writers about their concerns and socio-political issues.

6:00 pm

Sasha Filipenko: „Die Jagd“ (The hunt)

World premiere

Sasha Filipenko, Foto Lukas Lienhard © Diogenes Verlag

A hunt begins. A real hunt

Reading & Discussion
Sasha Filipenko (Belarus): Die Jagd, trans. Ruth Altenhofer (Diogenes 2022)
Moderation: Günter Kaindlstorfer (culture journalist and author)
Interpreter: Mascha Dabić.

I wrote this book because I wanted to show that murder is not the only way to put pressure on journalists. People pay attention when a reporter is murdered, but when they are literally driven crazy for years, no one could care less” (Sasha Filipenko). In his new novel, hot off the presses, the Belarussian author, currently in exile in Switzerland, tells the story—while sticking close to reality—of the idealistic journalist Anton Quint, who tangles with an oligarch. Who proceeds to give the order to ruin Quint.

Reading in Russian with German supertitles | Discussion in Russian interpreted into German by Mascha Dabić

In cooperation with the libraries of the City of Vienna


Sasha Filipenko, b. in Minsk in 1984. He graduated from the Department of Philology at the Petersburg University and from Bard College, New York, subsequently working as a journalist. His five novels to date have been translated into twelve languages and already his debut novel The Ex-Son (2014) has been awared several literary prizes. But Filipenko is not allowed to publish in Belarus. President Lukashenko considers the author his personal enemy and he faces more than twenty years in prison. Filipenko now lives in exile.  2022 a scholarship took him to Switzerland where his new novel Rückkehr nach Ostrog (Return to Ostrog) is in preparation with Diogenes.

8:00 pm

Phil Klay: Missionaries

European premiere

Phil Klay, Foto © Hannah Dunphy

… a Chinese-made drone hovering over a funeral in Yemen, communicating with an Emirati pilot over a Swedish communications network to help him drop an American-supplied bomb on a Houthi tribesman. – This is no flight of fancy on my part. It is how we kill these days.

 

Reading & Discussion
Phil Klay (USA): Missionaries (Penguin Press 2020) | Den Sturm ernten, trans. Hannes Meyer (Suhrkamp 2021)
Moderation: Sebastian Fasthuber (literature and music critic)

Phil Klay’s novel arcs from the 1980s, when armed conflict and drug cartel violence were tearing Columbia apart, to 2016, when Columbians voted on a peace accord between the government and the rebels. The four main characters—a member of the US Special Forces, a journalist, a patriot, and a member of the paramilitary—all try to fight on the side of right, thwarted by their dream of a just war. This “volatile political, even globally political work” (SWR best-seller list) was celebrated by critics as a key work on the destruction inherent in modern globalized warfare. 

Reading in English with German supertitles | Discussion in English


Phil Klay, b. 1983 in White Plains, New York, USA, is a graduate of Dartmouth College and a veteran of the U.S. Marine Corps. From 2007, for one year he served as press officer in the largest Iraqi province, Al-Anbar, also the site of Abu Ghraib, the infamous prison that received international attention for torture of prisoners. After his service and completion of his MFA, he worked as an assistant to the American writer Richard Ford, and today teaches creative writing at Fairfield University. His debut, Redeployment (Penguin, 2014), a collection of short stories about the Iraq war, received the National Book Award. Many nominations and prizes for his work followed. He publishes in journals and magazines, most recently in, among others, Commonweal and American Affairs Journal.
philklay.com

10:00 pm

Best of Ernst Molden

Konzert

Ernst Molden, Foto © Daniela Matejschek

i draam vo aana neichn zeit
(I dream about a new time)

 

The Austrian singer-songwriter and author Ernst Molden—the “Leonard Cohen of Vienna”—has an abundant body of work to draw from, since he has been writing songs since the early 1990s. At the festival, Ernst Molden will be performing solo, accompanied only by his guitar. He will be singing, usually in Viennese dialect—“Viennese is more musical than High German” (Ernst Molden)—a selection of his songs, from ballads to Blues and Rock-n-Roll numbers.


Ernst Molden, b. 1967 in Vienna, Austria, after a series of day jobs now makes his living as a writer, singer-songwriter, and guitar player in Vienna.
The daily newspaper Oberösterreichischen Nachrichten has called him the “outstanding Austrian singer-songwriter of our times.” He performs solo and with his closest musical partner, the grandmaster of the Styrian harmonica Walther Soyka, as well as in a quartet with Willi Resetarits, Walther Soyka, and Hannes Wirth, and in tandem with Nino from Vienna, or Hans Theessink, or Ursula Strauss, or together with a big band. He was the first Austrian musician to be awarded the German song prize, followed in 2017 by an Amadeus - Austrian Music Award. Molden is currently working with other prominent artists on an album about myths and legends.

Literaturhaus Wien

Zieglergasse 26a, 1070 Wien

Freitag, 1. April 2022

Literaturhaus Wien Zieglergasse 26a, 1070 Wien

15:00 Uhr

Lyrikschwerpunkt

Max Czollek, Foto © Konstantin Börner

wo die unglücklichen nicht

mehr weinen wir einfach

weiterschreiben –

PROLOG: Max Czollek im Gespräch mit Teresa Präauer
Der deutsche Autor, Publizist und Verfechter einer radikal pluralistische Gesellschaft Max Czollek hat im Auftrag des Festivals einen Lyrikschwerpunkt mit unterschiedlichen poetischen Positionen kuratiert.

Die Autorin Teresa Präauer – von ihr stammt das Motto des Festivals – spricht mit ihm über literarisches Engagement und politische Lyrik sowie über Fragen von Gegenwartsbewältigung und nötige Veränderungen.

Es folgen AUFTRITTE von:
Ricardo Domeneck (Brasilien/Deutschland)
Barbara Juch (Österreich)
Adi Keissar (Israel)
Ronya Othmann (Deutschland)

Ricardo Domeneck, Foto © Paul Mecky
Barbara Juch, Foto © Alice Peterhans
Adi Keissar, Foto © Yael Brandt
Ronya Othmann, Foto © Cihan Cakmak

Lesungen in den Originalsprachen mit Handouts der deutschen Übersetzungen


Max Czollek, geb. 1987 in Berlin, wo er am Zentrum für Antisemitismusforschung der TU Berlin promovierte. Bei Hanser erschienen Desintegriert euch! (2018) sowie Gegenwartsbewältigung (2020), zwei viel besprochene Manifeste für eine radikale Vielfalt. Er hat drei Lyrikbände im Verlagshaus Berlin veröffentlicht, zuletzt Grenzwerte (2019), ist Mitglied des Lyrikkollektivs G13 und Mitherausgeber des Magazins Jalta – Positionen zur jüdischen Gegenwart. Neben seiner Lehrtätigkeit und der Arbeit fürs Theater ist er 2022 Kurator einer Ausstellung zur Kulturgeschichte jüdischer Rache im jüdischen Museum Frankfurt am Main. Unter dem Titel Lieder erscheint im April 2022 die von ihm herausgegebenen Zeitschrift Akzente 1/22, welche nach der Aktualität des Kunstlieds für die zeitgenössische Lyrik, Gesang und Musik fragt.

Ricardo Domeneck, geb. 1977 in Bebedouro, São Paulo (Brasilien), lebt und arbeitet als Schriftsteller, Übersetzer und Literaturvermittler in Berlin. Er veröffentlichte bislang neun Gedichtbände und zwei Prosabände in Brasilien und ist Herausgeber verschiedener Magazine, aktuell etwa der literarischen Zeitschrift Peixe-boi, in der Prosa und Lyrik brasilianischer Autor*innen erscheint. Er gilt als Repräsentant einer Lyrik, die Lesung und Performance verbindet, und hat diese auf Lesungen und Festivals weltweit vorgestellt sowie in Zeitschriften und Anthologien u. a. in Deutschland, den USA, Spanien und Argentinien veröffentlicht. Er arbeitet immer wieder interdisziplinär und mit Künstler*innen unterschiedlicher Gattungen. Sein zweisprachiger Auswahlband Körper: ein Handbuch. ist 2013 im Verlagshaus Berlin erschienen.

Barbara Juch, geb. 1988 in Klagenfurt und aufgewachsen in Ferlach/Borovlje, lebt in Wien. Sie studierte amerikanische Literatur an der Universität Wien, war Fulbright Stipendiatin an der State University New York und absolvierte das Masterstudium Critical Studies an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien. Barbara Juch schreibt Lyrik, Essays und fürs Theater, singt im queer-feministischen Konzeptchor Mala Sirena und fährt in der Rennradgruppe Skinny Devils. Zusammenarbeiten u. a. mit dem Filmkollektiv Hekate, dem Studio HDS59 und dem Theater Waltzwerk Klagenfurt. Zuletzt erarbeitete sie mit der Regisseurin Claudia Bossard die Romanadaption Making a Great Gatsby für das Schauspielhaus Graz. Ihr Lyrikdebüt BARBARA erschien 2020 im Verlagshaus Berlin.
barbjuch.com

Adi Keissar, geb. 1980 in Jerusalem (Israel), ist eine Lyrikerin, Herausgeberin und Journalistin jemenitischer Herkunft, die heute in Tel Aviv lebt. Sie hat das bekannte Poesieprojekt Ars Poetica gegründet, welches orientalisch-jüdische Kultur mit Lyrik und Spoken Word zu einem poetischen Fest verbindet. Ihr erstes Buch Schwarz auf Schwarz (2014) wurde mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Ihr zweiter Band Loud Music ist 2016 erschienen, der aktuellste Band Chronicles 2018. Seit 2017 finden sich ihre Gedichte im Curriculum des israelischen Bildungsministeriums. Ihre Texte wurden in zehn Sprachen übersetzt und in Anthologien und Zeitschriften weltweit abgedruckt. Die israelische Tageszeitung Haaretz erklärte sie zur einflussreichsten israelischen Dichterin der Gegenwart.

Ronya Othmann, geb. 1993 in München, lebt als Autorin in Leipzig, wo sie am Deutschen Literaturinstitut studiert hat. Ein Teil ihrer Familie ist kurdisch-jesidischer Herkunft und stammt aus Syrien. Ronya Othmann macht sich sowohl in ihren literarischen als auch in ihren journalistischen Texten immer wieder stark für politische Belange. Ihr Romandebüt Die Sommer (2020) sowie der Gedichtband die verbrechen (2021) erschienen bei Hanser und erzählen vom Leben „zwischen allen Konventionen und Kulturen“. Sie erhielt u. a. den MDR-Literaturpreis, den Caroline-Schlegel-Förderpreis für Essayistik, den Lyrikpreis des Open Mike und den Publikumspreis des Ingeborg-Bachmann-Wettbewerbs.
ronyaothmann.com

17:00 Uhr

Teresa Präauer im Gespräch mit Ricardo Domeneck und Ronya Othmann

Teresa Präauer, Foto © Thomas Langdon

  Teresa Präauer führt ein weiteres Gespräch mit Ricardo Domeneck und Ronya Othmann: Den beiden Autor*innen gelingt es mit unterschiedlichen poetischen Mitteln, gesellschaftliche Debatten anzustoßen. Darüber hinaus schreibt Ronya Othmann seit 2021 für die Frankfurter Allgemeine Sonntagszeitung die Kolumne Import Export, während Ricardo Domeneck sprachgewaltig  Kritik an Brasiliens rechtspopulistischem Präsidenten Jair Bolsonaro äußert.

18:00 Uhr

Sasha Filipenko: „Die Jagd“

deutschsprachige Buchpremiere

Sasha Filipenko, Foto Lukas Lienhard © Diogenes Verlag

Es beginnt eine Jagd. Eine richtige Jagd.

Buchpräsentation & Gespräch
Sasha Filipenko (Belarus): Die Jagd (Trawlja, Wremja 2016 | aus dem Russischen von Ruth Altenhofer, Diogenes 2022)
Moderation: Günter Kaindlstorfer (Kulturjournalist und Autor)
Dolmetschung:  Mascha Dabić.

„Ich habe dieses Buch geschrieben, weil ich zeigen wollte, dass Mord nicht die einzige Art ist, auf Journalisten Druck auszuüben. Reporter rücken in den Fokus, wenn sie ermordet werden, aber wenn sie jahrelang buchstäblich in den Wahnsinn getrieben werden, kräht kein Hahn danach.“ (Sasha Filipenko). Der derzeit im Schweizer Exil lebende weißrussische Autor erzählt in seinem druckfrischen Roman – nah an der Realität – die Geschichte des idealistischen Journalisten Anton Quint, der sich mit einem Oligarchen anlegt. Worauf dieser den Befehl gibt, Quint fertigzumachen.

Lesung auf Russisch mit deutscher Übersetzung als Projektion auf Leinwand | Gespräch auf Russisch mit Dolmetschung



In Kooperation mit Stadt Wien – Büchereien | Hauptbücherei


Sasha Filipenko, geb. 1984 in Minsk, studierte nach einer abgebrochenen klassischen Musikausbildung in St. Petersburg und New York City Literatur, da die Universität in Minsk zwangsweise geschlossen worden war. Er arbeitete in Russland als Journalist und als Drehbuchautor, Gag-Schreiber und Moderator für Satiresendungen im Fernsehen. Seine fünf bisher erschienenen Romane wurden in zwölf Sprachen übersetzt und schon das Debüt Der ehemalige Sohn (2014, dt. 2021) wurde mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Das Buch ist in Belarus mittlerweile verboten und Filipenko, der unter anderem literarisch harsche Kritik an den Machtverhältnissen in Belarus übt, lebt mit seiner Familie im Exil. 2022 führt ihn ein Stipendium in die Schweiz, wo bei Diogenes der neue Roman Rückkehr nach Ostrog in Vorbereitung ist.

20:00 Uhr

Phil Klay: „Den Sturm ernten“

europäische Buchpremiere

Phil Klay, Foto © Hannah Dunphy

… a Chinese-made drone hovering over a funeral in Yemen, communicating with an Emirati pilot over a Swedish communications network to help him drop an American-supplied bomb on a Houthi tribesman. – This is no flight of fancy on my part. It is how we kill these days.


Buchpräsentation & Gespräch
Phil Klay (USA): Den Sturm ernten (Missionaries, Penguin Press 2020 | aus dem amerikanischen Englisch von Hannes Meyer, Suhrkamp 2021)
Moderation: Sebastian Fasthuber (Literatur- und Musikkritiker)

Der Roman von Phil Klay reicht bis in die 80er-Jahre zurück, als der bewaffnete Konflikt und auch die mit dem Drogenhandel verbundene Gewalt Kolumbien zerreißt, und endet im Jahr 2016, als die Kolumbianer über den Friedensvertrag abstimmen, den die Regierung mit den Rebellen ausgehandelt hat. Die vier Hauptcharaktere in Klays Buch – ein Mitglied der US-Special-Forces, eine Journalistin, ein Patriot und ein Paramilitär – versuchen, auf der Seite des Rechts zu kämpfen und scheitern letztendlich am Traum vom guten Krieg . Das „hochbrisante politische, ja weltpolitische Werk“ (SWR Bestenliste) wurde von der Kritik als ein Schlüsselwerk über die Zerstörungskraft der modernen globalisierten Kriegsführung gefeiert. 

Lesung auf Englisch mit deutscher Übersetzung als Projektion auf Leinwand | Gespräch auf Englisch


Phil Klay, geb. 1983 in White Plains, NY, USA, ist Absolvent des Dartmouth College und Veteran des U.S. Marine Corps. Dort diente er von 2007 ein Jahr lang als Presseoffizier im größten irakischen Gouvernement Al-Anbar, wo auch das durch den Folterskandal international bekannt gewordene Gefängnis Abu Ghraib liegt. Nach seinem Einsatz und dem Abschluss eines MFA arbeitete er als Assistent für den amerikanischen Schriftsteller Richard Ford und unterrichtet heute selbst kreatives Schreiben an der Fairfield University. Sein 2014 veröffentlichtes Debüt Wir erschossen auch Hunde mit Erzählungen aus dem Irak-Krieg wurde mit dem National Book Award ausgezeichnet, zahlreiche Nominierungen und Preise folgten. Er publiziert in Zeitschriften und Magazinen, zuletzt u. a. im Commonweal und im American Affairs Journal.
philklay.com

22:00 Uhr

Best-of Ernst Molden

Konzert

Ernst Molden, Foto © Daniela Matejschek

i draam vo aana neichn zeid

Der österreichische Liedermacher und Schriftsteller Ernst Molden – der „Leonard Cohen Wiens“ (Falter) – kann aus einem reichen Fundus schöpfen, denn seit den frühen 90er-Jahren sind zahlreiche Musikstücke aus seiner Feder geflossen. Im Rahmen des Festivals tritt Ernst Molden solo und nur von seiner Gitarre begleitet auf. Er präsentiert eine Auswahl von meist im Wiener Dialekt – „Wienerisch ist musikalischer als Hochdeutsch“ (Ernst Molden) – geschriebenen Songs: angefangen bei Balladen bis hin zu Blues- und Rocknummern.


Ernst Molden, geb. 1967 in Wien. Nach diversen Brotberufen lebt er seit 1993 als freier Dichter, Liedermacher, Sänger und Gitarrenspieler in Wien.
Die Oberösterreichischen Nachrichten nannten Molden den „herausragenden österreichischen Liedermacher der Gegenwart“. Der Künstler tritt in verschiedener Besetzung auf: solo oder mit seinem engsten musikalischen Partner Walther Soyka, dem Großmeister der Wiener Knöpferlharmonika, im Quartett mit Willi Resetarits, Walther Soyka und Hannes Wirth, im Duo mit dem Nino aus Wien oder Hans Theessink, mit Ursula Strauss oder großer Band. Als erster österreichischer Musiker ausgezeichnet mit dem deutschen Liederpreis,  2017 folgte ein Amadeus – Austrian Music Award. Im Frühjahr 2022 bereitet Molden mit einer Reihe von prominenten Mitwirkenden ein Album zu Sagen und Mythen vor.

Literaturhaus Wien

Zieglergasse 26a, 1070 Wien