Tuesday, November 26, 2019

Literaturhaus Wien Zieglergasse 26A, 1070 Vienna

7:00 pm

NO | FEAR of Fear

Exhibition Opening

© Lukas Dostal

Friederike Mayröcker: Short reading
The grande dame of Austrian literature reads from her exhibition text, a “proem” on overcoming fear. Central to the piece is a Snoopy figure, a pre-surgery consolation gift.

© Lukas Dostal

Robert Schindel: Short reading
The author and president of the International Erich Fried Society describes moments of his childhood in the rubble and debris of postwar Vienna, blended with a red ball with which he played on the Jesuit soccer field.

Friederike Mayröcker, b. 1924 in Vienna. Her first works of literature were written in 1939. In 1954, she met the Austrian author Ernst Jandl. They became close friends and later life partners. Her first book was published in 1956. It was followed by poems and prose, short stories and audioplays, children's books and theater scripts. Since 1975, she has published with Suhrkamp. Her many awards include the Georg Büchner Prize (2001) and most recently the Austrian Book Prize (2016) and the Günter Eich Prize (2017). Most recent publications: études (2013, English trans. Donna Stonecipher, Seagull Books 2020), cahier (2014), fleurs (2016), and Pathos und Schwalbe (2018). Lives in Vienna.

Robert Schindel, b. 1944 in Bad Hall. Author of poetry and prose. In the 1960s, following the example of the Berlin student movement, he was one of the founders of the Kommune Wien, the Vienna Commune, and of the literary journal Hundsblume. He has lived as a freelance writer since 1986, and has a comprehensive body of literary work. His first novel, Gebürtig (Born-Where), was an international success. Member of the Freie Akademie der Künste Hamburg and of the German Academy for Language and Literature. In 2009, he founded the Institute of Language Arts at the University of Applied Arts Vienna, which he directed until 2012. His many honors and awards include the Heinrich Mann Prize (2014). Lives in Vienna.

Festival Opening

© Jonathan Ring

No shadow could be allowed to darken their lives as they imagined them. They were terrified of the slightest hurt, afraid of fear itself.

Keynote
Aminatta Forna (SLE/GB) Why the World Needs New Stories
Introduction & Moderation Anne Zauner (festival director)

Aminatta Forna’s childhood was shaped by state terror in post-colonial 1970s Sierra Leone. Repression of the nation’s protest movement forced her to live in hiding. She managed to flee to Great Britain, her second homeland, after her politically active father was executed in a show trial—a story she tells powerfully in her memoir, The Devil that Danced on the Water (2002).
Forna’s processing of the festival theme has not only been literary. In 2002, she developed her own strategy for dealing with fear and founded the Rogbonko Village Project to support various rebuilding initiatives in her Sierra Leone village, which suffered greatly during the civil war of the 1990s.

The keynote will be held in English with German supertitles / Translation: Jacqueline Csuss / Discussion in English

Aminatta Forna, b. 1964 in Glasgow. Forna's parents were divorced. As a child she lived with her father in Sierra Leone. After he was executed in 1975, she was able to flee to her Scottish mother and spent her (pre-)teen years in Great Britain. Forna worked as a BBC journalist from 1989 to 1999, when she began to devote all her time to her own writing. Aminatta Forna has won many prizes and honors for her works—a memoir, The Devil that Danced on the Water (2002), and four novels, Ancestor Stones (2006), The Memory of Love (2010), The Hired Man (2013), and Happiness (2018). Among her prizes and awards are the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize (2011) and the Windham-Campbell Literature Prize (2014). In 2017, the Queen appointed her Officer of the Order of the British Empire. Aminatta Forna currently holds the Lannan Foundation Visiting Chair in Poetics at Georgetown University in Washington, D.C.

Literaturhaus Wien

Zieglergasse 26A, 1070 Vienna

Dienstag, 26. November 2019

Literaturhaus Wien Zieglergasse 26A, 1070 Wien

19:00 Uhr

Keine | Angst vor der Angst

Ausstellungseröffnung

© Lukas Dostal

 Friederike Mayröcker: Kurzlesung
Die Grande Dame der österreichischen Literatur liest u. a. ihren Ausstellungstext, ein „Proem“ zum Thema Angstüberwindung, in dem sie auf ein Snoopy-Figürchen Bezug nimmt, ein Trostgeschenk vor einem operativen Eingriff.

© Lukas Dostal

 Robert Schindel: Kurzlesung
Der Autor, Präsident der Internationalen Erich Fried Gesellschaft, beschreibt Kindheitsmomente vor dem Hintergrund des in Trümmern liegenden Nachkriegs-Wien, verschmolzen mit einem roten Ball, mit dem er als Junge auf der Jesuitenwiese Fußball gespielt hat.

Friederike Mayröcker, geb. 1924 in Wien. Erste literarische Arbeiten entstanden bereits 1939.  1954 lernte sie den österreichischen Autor Ernst Jandl kennen, mit dem sie zunächst eine enge Freundschaft verband, später wurde sie zu seiner Lebensgefährtin. 1956 erschien die erste Buchveröffentlichung. Es folgten Lyrik- und Prosabände, Erzählungen und Hörspiele, Kinderbücher und Bühnentexte. Seit 1975 veröffentlicht Mayröcker ihre Werke bei Suhrkamp. Die Autorin wurde vielfach ausgezeichnet, u. a. mit dem Georg-Büchner-Preis 2001, zuletzt mit dem Österreichischen Buchpreis 2016 und dem Günter-Eich-Preis 2017. Jüngste Veröffentlichungen: études (2013), cahier (2014), fleurs (2016), Pathos und Schwalbe (2018). Lebt in Wien.

Robert Schindel, geb. 1944 in Bad Hall. Lyriker und Prosaautor. In den 1960er-Jahren Mitbegründer der nach Berliner Vorbild aufgebauten Studentenbewegung „Kommune Wien“ und der Literaturzeitschrift Hundsblume. Seit 1986 freier Schriftsteller mit einem umfassenden literarischen Werk. 1992 veröffentlichte er seinen hoch gelobten ersten Roman Gebürtig. Mitglied der Freien Akademie der Künste Hamburg und der Deutschen Akademie für Sprache und Dichtung. 2009 Gründer des Instituts für Sprachkunst an der Universität für Angewandte Kunst Wien, dessen Leiter er bis 2012 war. Er erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, u. a. den Heinrich-Mann-Preis (2014). Lebt in Wien.

Festivaleröffnung

© Jonathan Ring
ERSTMALS IN ÖSTERREICH

No shadow could be allowed to darken their lives as they imagined them. They were terrified of the slightest hurt, afraid of fear itself.

Keynote
 Aminatta Forna
(SLE/GB) Why the World Needs New Stories
Einleitung & Gespräch Anne Zauner, Festivalleiterin

Aminatta Fornas Kindheit ist geprägt vom Staatsterror der 1970er-Jahre im postkolonialen Sierra Leone, der sich gegen die Protestbewegungen im Land richtete und sie zu einem Leben im Versteck zwang. Nachdem ihr politisch engagierter Vater nach einem Schauprozess hingerichtet wurde, gelang die Flucht nach Großbritannien, Fornas zweite Heimat – eindrücklich nachzulesen in ihrem Memoir The Devil that Danced on the Water (2002). Forna hat sich jedoch nicht nur literarisch mit dem Festivalthema auseindergesetzt, 2002 entwickelte sie ihre eigenen Strategien der Angstüberwindung: Mit dem von ihr begründeten Rogbonko Village Project unterstützt sie unterschiedliche Initiativen für Rogbonko, einem Dorf in Sierra Leone, das schwer unter den Bürgerkriegswirren der 1990er-Jahre gelitten hatte.

Keynote auf Englisch mit deutscher Übersetzung als Projektion auf Leinwand / Übersetzerin: Jacqueline Csuss / Gespräch in englischer Sprache

Aminatta Forna, geb. 1964 in Glasgow. Ihre Kindheit verbrachte Forna bei ihrem geschiedenen Vater in Sierra Leone. Nach seiner Hinrichtung 1975 konnte sie zu ihrer schottischen Mutter fliehen und wuchs in England auf. Von 1989 bis 1999 arbeitete sie als Journalistin für die BBC, danach als freiberufliche Autorin. Aminatta Forna ist die preisgekrönte Autorin des Memoirs The Devil that Danced on the Water (Memoir, 2002) und der vier Romane Ancestor Stones (2006, dt. 2007), The Memory of Love (2010, dt. 2012), The Hired Man (2013) und Happiness (2018). Auszeichnungen u. a.: Commonwealth Writers’ Prize (2011), Windham-Campbell Literature Prize (2014). 2017 wurde sie von der englischen Königin zu einem Officer des Order of the British Empire ernannt. Zurzeit lehrt Aminatta Forna an der Georgetown University in Washington, D.C. (Lannan Foundation Chair in Poetics).

Literaturhaus Wien

Zieglergasse 26A, 1070 Wien