Saturday, November 30, 2019

Literaturhaus Wien Zieglergasse 26A, 1070 Vienna

2:30 pm

Olivia Vieweg

© Carlsen Verlag
AUSTRIAN BOOK PREMIERE

She thought up her own gods. So they could take away her fear.

The graphic novel Endzeit (Ever After), a mystical fairy-tale zombie story, began as a Master’s thesis. Both the film Olivia Vieweg adapted for the screen in 2018 (“Uneasy and beguiling” – New York Times) and the graphic novel published by Carlsen in the same year were a hit with critics and readers. Alongside Endzeit, Vieweg will be presenting her most recent work, Antigone, a reinterpretation of Sophocles’ work that’s fresh off the press, also in the Carlsen series “Die Unheimlichen.”

Presentation & Talk
Olivia Vieweg (D): Endzeit (Carlsen 2018) / Antigone (Carlsen 2019)
Introduction & Moderation: Nina Dietrich (communication illustrator & artist)

Olivia Vieweg, b. 1987 in Jena. Studied visual communication in Weimar. She was co-editor of the manga anthology Paper Theatre, for which she received the ICOM Prize in 2010. In 2012, she received a comic fellowship from Egmont for her script for Antoinette kehrt zurück, the comic came out in 2014. With Suhrkamp she published the graphic novels Huck Finn (2013), and Schwere See, mein Herz (2015). Endzeit (2018) and Antigone (late 2019) were published by Carlsen. In 2015, she was awarded the Tankred Dorst Prize for her screenplay adaptation of Endzeit (Ever After). The feature film, directed by Carolina Hellsgård, was a surprise hit at the 2018 Toronto International Film Festival.

4:30 pm

Emily Carroll

© privat
AUSTRIAN DEBUT

Her breath was hot
her touch icy.

Canadian graphic novelist Emily Carroll gained international attention for her short 2010 web horror comic, His Face All Red, described by Sean T. Collins as a “genuinely creepy, genuinely bleak stor[y] of murder and monstrousness.” She has remained true to her love of the dark and dismal. Her award-winning horror story Through the Woods (Faber & Faber 2015) is considered a milestone of the genre and her brand-new graphic novel When I Arrived at the Castle (Koyama Press 2019) is already turning heads and has been called “a pure piece of art” (Steve Wolfhard).

Presentation & Talk
Emily Carroll (CAN): Through the Woods (Faber & Faber 2015) / When I Arrived at the Castle (Koyama Press 2019)
Introduction & Moderation: Edda Strobl (comic artist & publisher)

Reading and Discussion in English

Emily Carroll, b. 1983 in London, Canada. Carroll writes and illustrates award-winning comics. Her collection of horror comics, Through the Woods, earned her the coveted Eisner Award as well as the Ignatz Award and the British Fantasy Award. She has also published a graphic novel adaptation of Laurie Halse Anderson’s novel Speak and her new Baroque horror story When I Arrived at the Castle. She is renowned for her short online horror comics, in which she experiments with form and content. Carroll lives with her wife Kate Craig, a videogame artist, in Stratford, Ontario.

6:30 pm

Joe Sacco

Self-portrait © Joe Sacco
AUSTRIAN DEBUT

I can draw fear.

Joe Sacco gives voice to those who are seldom heard, without worrying, as he has said, about how their stories match up with the tired excuses of the powerful. The preeminent comic reporter made comic history with works such as Palestine (2001) or Safe Area Gorazde (2000). At the Literaturhaus Vienna he will review his works with an eye towards the festival theme NO | FEAR and speak with the audience about new projects.

Presentation & Talk
Joe Sacco (USA/MLT)
Introduction & Moderation: Thomas Ballhausen (literary scholar & author)

In English

Joe Sacco, b. 1960 in Kirkop, Malta. Sacco defines himself as a graphic journalist. He is considered the founder of comic journalism and a “genius of the form” (Neue Zürcher Zeitung). He has won multiple prizes for his ground-breaking works such as Palestine (2001) and Footnotes in Gaza (2009), including the American Book Award, the Eisner Award, the Los Angeles Times Book Prize Graphic Novel Award and the Ridenhour Book Prize. His newest novel, Paying the Land, slated for 2020, will deal with the uprooting of the indigenous peoples of northwestern Canada. Currently Sacco is collaborating with journalist Chris Hedges on a book about poverty in the United States. Lives in Portland, Oregon.

Chris Ware

Self-portrait © Chris Ware
AUSTRIAN DEBUT

Pay attention to how it actually feels to be alive, to the lies you tell yourself and others.

The protagonists of the works of Chris Ware are socially isolated, bullied, and depressed. His early masterpiece, Jimmy Corrigan—the Smartest Kid on Earth (2001), centers around a boy’s isolation within his family. In Building Stories (2012)—which take place in a one-hundred-year-old apartment house in Chicago in the 2000s—Ware found the perfect symbiosis of content and form. Readers can “build” their own version of the story out of the fourteen separate elements in which it is told. In Vienna, Ware will be presenting his latest work, Rusty Brown, Part I.

Presentation & Talk
Chris Ware (USA)
Introduction & Moderation: Thomas Ballhausen (literary scholar & author)

In English

Chris Ware, b. 1967 in Omaha, Nebraska, USA. Chris Ware is the author of the much-lauded Jimmy Corrigan: the Smartest Kid on Earth (2001), winner of the Guardian First Book Award, and of the style-bending innovative Building Stories (2012), “not only the apex of his work to date, but also one of the most important artworks of this still-young twenty-first century” (Thomas von Steinaecker in Die Welt). Chris Ware was not only the first comic artist to be invited to the Whitney Biennale in New York (2002), he has also exhibited in the Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago (2006). His brand-new experimental masterpiece, Rusty Brown, Part I, is an interactive play with time and space that enters diverse levels of consciousness and realities (Penguin Random House 2019).

Joe Sacco & Chris Ware

© Joe Sacco & Chris Ware

The presentation is followed by a talk with both artists Joe Sacco and Chris Ware
Moderation: Thomas Ballhausen (Literaturwissenschaftler und Autor)

In English

Literaturhaus Wien

Zieglergasse 26A, 1070 Vienna

Samstag, 30. November 2019

Literaturhaus Wien Zieglergasse 26A, 1070 Wien

14:30 Uhr

Olivia Vieweg

© Carlsen Verlag
ÖSTERREICH-BUCHPREMIERE

Sie hat sich eigene Götter ausgedacht. Damit sie ihr die Angst nehmen.

Die Graphic Novel Endzeit, eine mystisch-märchenhafte Zombie-Geschichte, begann ihr Leben 2011 als Diplom-Abschlussarbeit. Die Verfilmung in Olivia Viewegs adaptierter Drehbuchfassung 2018 (“Uneasy and beguiling” – New York Times) und die Veröffentlichung in der aktuellen Version bei Carlsen im gleichen Jahr wurden von Publikum und Presse gefeiert. Olivia Vieweg präsentiert neben Endzeit auch ihr jüngstes Werk Antigone, eine druckfrische Neuinterpretation des antiken Sophokles-Stoffes, soeben in der Carlsen-Reihe Die Unheimlichen erschienen.

Präsentation & Gespräch
Olivia Vieweg (D): Endzeit (Carlsen 2018) / Antigone (Carlsen 2019)
Moderation: Nina Dietrich (Kommunikations-Illustratorin und Künstlerin)

Olivia Vieweg, geb. 1987 in Jena. Studium der Visuellen Kommunikation in Weimar. Sie war Mitherausgeberin der Manga-Anthologie Paper Theatre, für die sie 2010 den ICOM Preis erhielt. 2012 gewann sie das Comic-Stipendium von Egmont mit ihrem Skript für Antoinette kehrt zurück, der Comic erschien 2014. Bei Suhrkamp veröffentlichte sie die Graphic Novels Huck Finn (2013) und Schwere See, mein Herz (2015), bei Carlsen Endzeit (2018) und Antigone (Ende 2019). 2015 erhielt sie für ihre Drehbuchumsetzung von Endzeit den Tankred-Dorst-Preis. Die Verfilmung in der Regie von Carolina Hellsgård wurde 2018 beim Toronto International Film Festival zum Überraschungserfolg.

16:30 Uhr

Emily Carroll

© privat
ERSTMALS IN ÖSTERREICH

Her breath was hot
her touch icy.

Die kanadische Graphic Novel Künstlerin Emily Carroll hat erstmals 2010 mit dem Webcomic His Face All Red, einem kurzen Horror-Comic, für Aufsehen gesorgt – “genuinely creepy, genuinely bleak stories of murder and monstrousness.” Die leidenschaftliche Liebe für das Dunkle und Abgründige ist ihr geblieben. So zählt der Horrorgeschichtenband Through the Woods (Faber & Faber 2015) zu einem vielfach ausgezeichneten Meilenstein des Genres und auch ihre druckfrische Graphic Novel When I Arrived at the Castle (Koyama Press 2019) sorgt bereits für Furore – “a pure piece of art.” (Steve Wolfhard).

Präsentation & Gespräch
Emily Carroll (CAN): Through the Woods (Faber & Faber 2015) / When I Arrived at the Castle (Koyama Press 2019)
Moderation: Edda Strobl (Comic-Künstlerin und -verlegerin)

Präsentation & Gespräch in englischer Sprache

Emily Carroll, geb. 1983 in London, Ontario, Kanada. Carroll ist Autorin und Künstlerin zahlreicher preisgekrönter Comics. Mit ihrer Horror-Comicsammlung Through the Woods gewann die leidenschaftliche Liebhaberin des Genres 2014 sowohl den begehrten Eisner Award, wie auch den Ignatz Award und den British Fantasy Award. Zu ihren weiteren Arbeiten zählen die 2018 erschienene Graphic Novel-Adaption von Laurie Halse Andersons Roman Speak, sowie die kürzlich erschienene barocke Horrorgeschichte When I Arrived at the Castle. Carroll ist auch für ihre online veröffentlichten kurzen Horror-Comics bekannt, in denen sie mit Form und Inhalt experimentiert. Lebt mit ihrer Ehefrau Kate Craig, einer Videogame-Künstlerin, in Stratford, Ontario.

18:30 Uhr

Joe Sacco

Selbstporträt © Joe Sacco
ERSTMALS IN ÖSTERREICH

I can draw fear.

„Ich kümmere mich hauptsächlich um die, die kaum gehört werden“, erklärte Joe Sacco einmal über seine Arbeitsweise, „ohne das Bedürfnis zu haben, ihre Aussagen mit den sattsam bekannten Ausreden der Mächtigen zu konfrontieren.“ Der wohl bedeutendste Comic-Reporter hat mit seinen Arbeiten – u. a. Palestine (2001, dt. 2004) oder Safe Area Gorazde (2000, dt. 2010) – Comic-Geschichte geschrieben. Im Literaturhaus Wien zeigt er einen Querschnitt seiner Arbeiten zum Festivalthema KEINE | ANGST und spricht über neue Projekte.

Präsentation & Gespräch
Joe Sacco (USA/MLT)
Moderation: Thomas Ballhausen (Literaturwissenschaftler und Autor)

In englicher Sprache

Joe Sacco, geb. 1960 in Kirkop, Malta. Sacco definiert sich selbst als zeichnenden Journalisten. Er gilt als Erfinder der Comic-Reportage – „Genie dieser Form“ (Neue Zürcher Zeitung). Für seine bahnbrechenden Werke, u. a. Palestine (2001, dt. 2004) und Footnotes in Gaza (2009, dt. 2011), wurde er mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet, u. a. dem American Book Award, dem Eisner Award, dem Los Angeles Times Book Prize Graphic Novel Award und dem Ridenhour Book Prize. 2020 erscheint seine nächste Graphic Novel Paying the Land, die sich mit der Entwurzelung der indigenen Bevölkerung in den nordwestlichen Gebieten Kanadas beschäftigt. Joe Sacco, der in Portland, Oregon lebt, arbeitet gegenwärtig mit dem Journalisten Chris Hedges an einem Buch über Armut in den USA.

Chris Ware

Selbstporträt © Chris Ware
ERSTMALS IN ÖSTERREICH

Pay attention to how it actually feels to be alive, to the lies you tell yourself and others.

In den Arbeiten von Chris Ware finden sich die sozial Isolierten, emotional Gequälten und Depressiven wieder. So erzählt sein frühes Meisterwerk Jimmy Corrigan – the Smartest Kid on Earth (2001) von der Verlorenheit eines Jungen in seiner Familie. Mit Building Stories (2012) die Geschichten spielen in einem 100 Jahre alten Mietshaus im Chicago der Nullerjahre gelang Ware eine perfekte Symbiose von Inhalt und Form: Dabei können die Leser/innen aus den verschiedenen Elementen, einem Setzkasten ähnlich, eigene Versionen der Geschichte „bauen“.  Anlässlich seines Wien Auftritts stellt Chris Ware auch seinen jüngsten Streich vor: Rusty Brown, Part I.

Präsentation & Gespräch
Chris Ware (USA)
Moderation: Thomas Ballhausen (Literaturwissenschaftler und Autor)

In englischer Sprache

Chris Ware, geb. 1967 in Omaha, Nebraska, USA. Chris Ware ist der hoch gepriesene Autor von Jimmy Corrigan – the Smartest Kid on Earth (2001, dt. 2013, u. a. mit dem Guardian First Book Award ausgezeichnet) und dem stilprägenden und innovativen Comic Building Stories (2012) – „nicht nur der Höhepunkt seines bisherigen Schaffens, sondern eines der wichtigsten Kunstwerke dieses noch jungen 21. Jahrhunderts“ (Thomas von Steinaecker in Die Welt). Chris Ware wurde nicht nur 2002 als erster Comiczeichner zur Whitney Biennale in New York eingeladen, ihm war 2006 auch eine Ausstellung im Museum of Contemporary Art in Chicago gewidmet. Sein jüngstes experimentelles Meisterwerk Rusty Brown, Part I – ein interaktives Spiel mit Zeit und Raum, mit unterschiedlichen Bewusstseinsebenen und Realitäten – ist im September 2019 bei Penguin Random House erschienen.

Joe Sacco & Chris Ware

© Joe Sacco & Chris Ware

Zum Abschluss folgt ein gemeinsames Gespräch mit den beiden Künstlern zum Festivalthema KEINE | ANGST.
Moderation: Thomas Ballhausen (Literaturwissenschaftler und Autor)

In englischer Sprache

Literaturhaus Wien

Zieglergasse 26A, 1070 Wien